Logo seul moutarde 2.png

Art Gallery

Exhibitions - Sales

Chambre Blanche

To come - Programming 2022

"FUNGI!"

Helene COQ

from   August 25 to September 21, 2022

Hélène Coq into the box.jpeg

Hélène COQ

In 2018, after a very long hiatus and thanks to a few decisive encounters, I returned to the artistic practices of my youth: drawing, painting, then photography. 

Thirty years of architectural projects had shaped my creativity: a complex exercise in which part of the talent consists in preserving the beautiful original idea until its concretization, all along a path strewn with regulatory, financial, technical, human obstacles (and sometimes assets).

With intuitive painting first, then photography, I experienced the joy of a liberated, light production, without any project this time, to live in the present. The surprise of the results invites me to go further, to explore, to play, to surprise myself again. 

External, benevolent and encouraging eyes were placed on my images. Thus, the additional pleasure would be to share them... until I conceived a first exhibition.

For me, who until then had the feeling of flitting around aimlessly, how to organise these eclectic productions in order to show them? How to understand and interpret them? By spotting Ariadne's threads in them, which are quite obvious in the end. Strange spaces with unremarkable scales populate my images, the border between the photographed and the drawn is sometimes tenuous. Light plays a particular role, revealing quasi-sculptures, just like in my architectural projects. I like to play with materials, colour and value relationships, unexpected compositions, abstraction and evocation.

FUNGI !

 

My footsteps take me back to the woods of my childhood, dark and dense slopes, full of life, which offered us firewood, young shoots from the coppice and ferns for our huts, chestnuts cooked in the fireplace, and up to 22 species of mushrooms on our plates. 

I walk through this small territory almost every day, and of all its occupants it is the mushrooms that catch my eye the most. My equipment: a basket, a stick, and my camera with its macro lens.

The mysterious reign of the Fungi, neither animal nor vegetable, conjures up a whole ancestral phantasmagoria. It is a question of life and death, shamanic powers, pleasure and danger.

It is their aesthetic that I want to capture, sometimes graphic and geometric, very often sensual. The light underlines organic architectures, reveals surprising landscapes. Forgetting their scale, cliffs, caves or arches appear to my eyes. 

A way of playing, of course, but also a tribute to the incredible underground life from which these fascinating mushrooms emerge.

_1059552 copie.jpg
Vernissage Hélène.png
Hors-série Galerie d'art photographique.jpg
Vernissage Hélène COQ - FUNGI - Recto.png
Vernissage Hélène COQ - FUNGI - Verso.png
Mur en béton

Discover the universe - Follow the news
by Hélène COQ

Logo seul moutarde 2.png

Galerie d'Art

Expositions - Ventes

Mur en béton

A venir - Programmation 2022

" FUNGI ! "

Hélène COQ

du  25 août au 21 septembre 2022

Hélène Coq into the box.jpeg

Hélène COQ

A partir de 2018, après une très longue parenthèse et grâce à quelques rencontres déterminantes, j’ai renoué avec mes pratiques artistiques de jeunesse : dessin, peinture, puis photographie. 

Trente ans de projets d’architecture avaient façonné ma créativité : exercice complexe dans lequel une partie du talent consiste à préserver la belle idée originelle jusqu’à sa concrétisation, tout au long d’un parcours semé d’obstacles (et parfois d’atouts) réglementaires, financiers, techniques, humains,…Les espaces réussis, beaux et agréables à vivre s’obtiennent au terme d’efforts de tous les instants et d’une rigueur permanente.

Avec la peinture intuitive d’abord, puis la photographie, j’ai éprouvé la joie d’une production libérée, légère, sans projet cette fois, à vivre au présent. La surprise des résultats m’invitant à aller plus loin, à explorer, jouer, me surprendre encore. 

Des regards extérieurs, bienveillants et encourageants se sont posés sur mes images. Ainsi, le plaisir supplémentaire serait de les partager…jusqu’à en concevoir une première exposition.

Pour moi qui avais jusqu'alors le sentiment de papillonner sans but, comment organiser ces productions éclectiques en vue de les montrer ? Comment les comprendre, les interpréter ? En y repérant des fils d’Ariane, finalement assez évidents. D’étranges espaces aux échelles sans repères peuplent mes images, la frontière entre le photographié et le dessiné est parfois ténue. La lumière tient un rôle particulier, révélateur de quasi-sculptures, tout comme dans mes projets architecturaux. J’aime jouer avec les matières, les rapports de couleurs et valeurs, les compositions inattendues, l’abstraction et l’évocation.

" FUNGI !  " 

Malice de la vie…Mes pas me ramènent dans les bois de mon enfance, pentes sombres et denses, pleines de vie, qui nous offraient le bois de chauffage, les jeunes pousses des taillis et les fougères pour nos cabanes, les châtaignes cuites au feu de cheminée, et jusqu’à 22 espèces de champignons dans nos assiettes. 

J’arpente presque chaque jour ce petit territoire, et de tous ses occupants ce sont bien les champignons qui captent le plus mon regard. Mon équipement : un panier, un bâton, et mon boîtier avec son objectif macro.

Le règne mystérieux des Fungi, ni animal ni végétal, convoque toute une fantasmagorie ancestrale. Il est question ici de vie et de mort, de pouvoirs chamaniques, de plaisir et de danger.

C’est leur esthétique que je veux fixer, graphique et géométrique parfois, sensuelle très souvent. La lumière souligne des architectures organiques, révèle des paysages surprenants. Oubliant leur échelle, des falaises, grottes ou arches apparaissent à mon regard. 

Une manière de jeu bien sûr, mais aussi d’hommage à l’incroyable vie souterraine d’où émergent ces champignons fascinants.

_1059552 copie.jpg
Mur en béton

Découvrir l'univers - Suivre l'actualité
de Hélène COQ

_1059599 (2) copie.jpg